The Moral High Ground
The Moral High Ground Podcast
Welcome To The Moral High Ground: THE AUDIO VERSION!
6
Preview
0:00
-1:42

Welcome To The Moral High Ground: THE AUDIO VERSION!

How does my writing sound when I read it out loud? I dunno, let's find out!
6
Hello, I am your host, Evan Hurst, and this is a selfie I took of myself in the hotel bathroom a few months ago before I saw Josh Groban and Annaleigh Ashford in Sweeney Todd on Broadway for the second time.

Hello, Moral High Grounders! (Yes, you already have a name.)

I know it isn’t Friday, but this is a special Thursday morning email and post to announce this little newsletter’s first exciting special feature for paying subscribers!

We are quickly barreling toward our first 3,000 total subscribers, and some of you already have become paying subscribers, which is so amazing. To those of you on that list, thank you thank you thank you. From now on, after each weekly newsletter comes out there will also be an AUDIO VERSION for paying subscribers, read by yours truly. (If you’re already a paying subscriber reading this, it’s right there up top!)

This way, if you’re a busy human and you’d rather listen while you’re washing dishes, or on the treadmill, or while the pool boy is feeding you bon-bons on your lanai — you know, whatever your situation is — then you will now have that option.

If you’ve been reading me a long time at Wonkette and you’ve always wondered what I sound like, how southern I really am from one sentence to the next, or whether or not you’ve been reading my jokes with the correct inflection and cadence, you can find out!

Hopefully this is the first small step toward adding a podcast. But for right now, it’s very low-budget and I am just yapping words into my MacBook, so you get to hear all the screw-ups I am choosing to leave in. For instance, I said I am the “manager” of Wonkette, my day job. As if snarky liberal mommyblogs have “managers.” Obviously I meant to say “managing editor.” It’s not like I come in and punch in a code when somebody makes a dick joke that doesn’t land.

Also, you can hear me say “oh my God” at the very end after a long delay, because I couldn’t find the window to stop the recording, ha ha ha, I am good at computers.

Here is your link to the original piece to follow along if you’d like. (It’s not quiiiiite the same as the audio version. These audio versions will end up being a bit of a remix sometimes, I reckon.)

Tomorrow’s regular Friday morning newsletter will come out on schedule, and the audio versions of that, plus the other two weekly posts that have come out so far, will appear next week.

So if you’re not a paying subscriber or founding member yet, please take this opportunity to become one, to have access to all this new stuff, plus other new stuff that’ll be here when it gets here!

If you want the treadmill/bon-bons on lanai special audio versions, become a paying subscriber or founding member here!

UPDATE: A reader who is a disability rights activist brought it to my attention, and they were right: if anybody is out there who needs the audio version because they can’t otherwise read the printed version, please get in touch.

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to The Moral High Ground to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

The Moral High Ground
The Moral High Ground Podcast
We are living through a world-historical temper tantrum from white conservative Christians over their loss of control, relevance, and supremacy. This weekly newsletter looks at current events through that lens, glares at it, and usually mocks it.